Keeping up with the Kandidates — Rocky Mountain High

My experience with the Iowa caucus on Jan. 3, watching and waiting until 3 a.m. for the final tally to be decided, was unreal. Last night at 1 a.m., flashes of Iowa were reflecting out west in Colorado.

The night had grown weary. I sat in darkness in the center of an apartment where three others rested comfortably their respective beds. I longed for my precious mattress and my eyes began to slowly lose a battle with gravity.

I listened to the Talking Heads and I listened to what the CNN analysts had to say. I did that for more than four hours.

But at last, at 1 a.m. (11 p.m. mountain time), Colorado’s GOP Chairman appeared on CNN saying Rick Santorum has won Colorado’s Republican primary.

Feb. 7, 2012 belonged to Rick Santorum.

Across the country, Santorum supports are raising their brooms high above their heads. This was a sweep that nobody but them saw coming.

If you told me that Santorum would win all three states yesterday, I would have looked at you in the same way that I would have looked at someone in September telling me the New York Giants were going to win the Super Bowl this year. I would’ve laughed in your face.

However, on any given Tuesday, anything can happen.

Santorum did it. And he did it with a frothy mix of hard work, dedication, patience and support.

According to CNN, he also did it by pulling a strong Evangelical vote (which these days in Colorado now includes a certain outspoken football player.)

Santorum is steaming. There may not be a happier person in the world right now then him. Can he keep it up or is this just a premature reaction to a lucky day?

Maine finishes up their week long voting period Saturday. Get your lobster ready.

Juan Cervantes is a junior history major and student blogger for The Diamondback.

One comment on “Keeping up with the Kandidates — Rocky Mountain High

  1. santorum literally took a stillborn dead fetus baby on an adventure with his family. almost as weird as bill nichol’s chode

Your two cents:

